Billecart-Salmon is located away from the main tourist area in Mareuil-Sur-Ay and visits are by appointment only. The house is family owned and operated with a focus on fastidious production. Billecart-Salmon styles tend toward delicate, fresh and fruity. The range has continued to expand and diversify over recent years. An example of a recent addition is the Brut Sous Bois, a cuvee fully fermented in oak.
Billecart-Salmon Champagne Collection
Dry and Sweet
Billecart-Salmon Dry Styles
Vintage Prestige Cuvee
Billecart-Salmon Sweeter Styles
Billecart-Salmon offers one demi-sec for those who prefer a sweeter champagne experience. It is a non-vintage champagne. Our Sweet Champagne webpage provides a list of additional sweet champagne brands.
The Billecart-Salmon House was established in Mareuil-sur-Aÿ in 1818 by Nicolas-Francois Billecart with help from his brother in law, Louis Salmon. Nicolas married Louis’ sister, Elisabeth Salmon the same year the house was founded. The family has lived in the area since the 16th century. One of Nicolas’ forefathers, Pierre Billecart was advisor to King Louis XIII. The King gave Pierre the authority to create the Billecart coat of arms. In the past, this symbol, “blue inside a gold chevron with three bunches of grapes lined up along the top above a greyhound standing to attention” adorned the old wine barrels of the house.
The vast network of the Billecart-Salmon cellars date from the 17th and 19th centuries. The house and its gardens were redesigned by Charles Roland-Billecart in the 1920s. After a storm destroyed much of the original garden in 1999, Charles’ grandson, Francois Roland-Billecart decided to expand the area. He delegated the project to his sister, Véronique Roland-Billecart. The family remains dedicated to the preservation of the garden from generation to generation.
More On Billecart-Salmon
Contact and Visitor Information